The Buzz on Caffeine

As I dive into the nitty gritty of my last semester of college (*panic*), I am reminded daily of my ingrained caffeine habits. I was asked yesterday by my friend, “Do you drink coffee everyday?”, and I was forced to reveal my 3-4 cups daily habit. Even though my opinion  may be biased, I think caffeine has an undeserved bad rap. After all, it has been shown that coffee is the number 1 source of antioxidants in American’s diets. And I’m sure those who seek caffeine from tea are well aware of it’s benefits, too!

There are a few interesting facts about caffeine containing beverages that most people aren’t aware of.

 

COFFEE

1) Like chocolate, coffee is a fruit! Its’ ‘berries’ contain two small seeds in the center. These seeds are in fact the coffee ‘beans’! Once removed from their tough outer skin, they are roasted and turn from green to  black.

2) Roasting the beans actually decreases the caffeine content. The longer the beans are roasted (darker roast) the less caffeine they have. I think this is interesting because technically espresso grounds have less caffeine than coffee grounds; but because espresso grounds are tightly packed when brewed, the resulting beverage has a higher caffeine content.

3) Decaffeinated coffee is not 100% decaffeinated! Only about 97% of the caffeine can be extracted from the beans.

 

TEA

1) All teas are derived from the camelia sinensis plant! Their differences arise during the processing phase.

  • Green tea leaves are heated, steamed, and then rolled to give a lighter color tea.
  • Black tea leaves are dried and then rolled, and are slightly fermented.
  • Oolong tea is a mix between green and black teas.
  • White tea made with only the bud of the tea plant.

2) Herbal teas are a little bit different. They are not necessarily derived from camelia sinesis and they may contain flowers, bark, fruits, and other leaves.

 

There are so many more fun facts to learn about these beverages. Comment or message me if you’re interested 🙂 Every food can fit into a healthy diet and coffees and teas are a good way to pack in some extra antioxidants!

One thought on “The Buzz on Caffeine

  1. Thanks for the tea education – I can’t believe how little I knew! So… I don’t have to give up my 4 cups a day habit, correct?

Leave a Reply

