Bend. Stretch. Breathe. SWEAT.

These are the four words that best describe bikram hot yoga. Recently, one of my friends and I purchased a living social coupon for bikram yoga classes. I have always wanted to try it so I took advantage of this right away. We went for our first class a few days ago, both a little nervous about what to expect. We chose to go to an ‘open’ level class, even though we are both regular “yogis”. I don’t know if it was because we went to a lower level class, but the pace was slower than a normal yoga class. I really enjoyed that you were given time to hold the positions instead of rushing through sun salutations. By the end of the class, I was dripping sweat from pores I didn’t even know existed! I felt awesome though. I will vouch for anyone who claims it is ‘cleansing’ because I was on my ‘yoga high’ for a full two days. I was more relaxed, calm, and felt purified. Unless you have a health condition that would not allow you to participate in hot yoga, I would recommend trying it at least once.

What to bring: yoga mat (although most places do provide them), a hand towel (that you don’t care will get drenched with sweat), and definitely a bottle of water. I would suggest freezing your water bottle before hand because it is H.O.T. in there. Most people also bring a beach or bath towel to cover their mat. It is difficult to hold poses when your mat is sweaty and slippery. I have a yoga may cover that I found at a bargain outlet for under $10, a steal! It works just as well as a bath or beach towel.

I hope everyone can find their exercise adventurous side and try out a hot yoga class! If you like yoga, you’re going to love it!

Leave a Reply

