When Life Gives You Zucchini…

…make everything imaginable that includes zucchini!

After staying inside for 2 days (due to the unbearable heat, ugh!), I came down with a little cabin fever. Good thing my dad’s zucchini are in abundance.

It’s safe to say that my number 1 pet peeve is wasting food. I knew that all of the zucchini had to be used or else they would go to waste. After spending a solid hour looking for recipes online, I decided to make zucchini bread. I followed the recipe closely (I was nervous since it was something I had never made before), except I used about 2 cups of shredded zucchini instead of 1. I figured this was an okay substitution, given that I was at no shortage of zucchini. I also decided I would home make almond flour to use in the recipe!

Making the almond flour was so simple! It is a good flour alternative to keep in mind if you have any wheat allergies. Just throw some almonds in a food processor (about 1.25 cups of raw almonds = 1 cup of almond flour) until they become powdery. For me, this was about 2 minutes. You have to be careful not to let them process for too long or else the oils will cause a paste to form (do this if you want to make almond butter instead of almond flour).

After a powder has formed, pour it into a sifter and sift what you can into a bowl. Put the larger pieces that won’t sift through back into the food processor until they are fine enough.

After making the almond flour, I threw the rest of the ingredients together and baked the bread for about 30 minutes. The recipe calls for 2 small loaves but I just made 1 regular sized loaf. The bread was VERY moist, which I didn’t mind. However, I feel like adding a little all purpose flour to help stiffen it up wouldn’t hurt. Overall, the recipe is pretty healthy! I figured that a slice that is 1/8th of the loaf would be about 210 calories. Using almond flour as opposed to all purpose flour means more protein, vitamins, and monounsaturated fats, and substituting honey means no processed sugar! The recipe also includes healthy spices such as cinnamon, which is high in antioxidants, and a banana! YUM!

Happy heart healthy baking 🙂

Leave a Reply

