3 Cup Start

I want to talk about the most important (and in my opinion, the best) meal of the day: Breakfast! Hate to break it to everybody reading this, but all of the talk about breakfast ‘jump starting your metabolism’ is mostly just…talk. The increase in metabolic activity it provides, if any, is very minimal. It is more important that breakfast sets the tone for what you eat for the rest of the day. Every once in a while, a giant stack of pancakes or french toast is just what the doctor ordered. However, on a daily basis, I try to stick to a tip my mom taught me about a 3 cup breakfast: 1 cup of cereal, 1 cup of milk, and 1 cup of fruit. Now, as with any other dietary tip, this is a guideline. The important point is that your meal should consist of a protein (milk, yogurt, or eggs, are my personal favorite), a carbohydrate (whole grains being best, of course), and a fruit or in some cases a vegetable. When I don’t have time in the mornings to make my personal favorite, an egg white omelette with sauteed spinach and mushrooms with feta cheese, I turn to the classic cereal and milk, or yogurt, with berries. Lately, I have been making my own version of a yogurt parfait!

Usually, I scale down the 3 cup breakfast to 1 cup of yogurt, .5 cup of berries, and 2/3 cup of granola, this is only because I like to eat more small meals throughout the day. In my opinion, the best parfait consists of plain greek yogurt, frozen berries, and maple and brown sugar granola.

Personally, I love the texture that frozen berries give. I also like to buy them because they store better than regular berries and can be used in soooo many ways. Also the variety of blueberries and raspberries is a great source of antioxidants! Granola is one thing that I feel gets a bad reputation that it doesn’t deserve. Yes, granola is higher in calories than most other cereals, but if you are controlling your portion sizes it is a perfect component to any meal or snack! It contains mono and poly unsaturated fats (the good fats), and fiber which will aid in digestion and help you feel fuller for longer. Greek yogurt completes the trio perfectly since it is usually 0% fat and is packed with protein.

This perfect breakfast combination is quick to make and sooo delicious! Add a bit of raw honey or agave nectar for some extra sweetness. Yummmm. Have a great day 🙂 

Leave a Reply

